EDA Board of Directors

The affairs of the Association shall be governed by a Board of Directors comprised of eleven (11) Directors. Seven (7) Directors shall be elected by the members of the Association; two (2) are automatically appointed (President and Immediate Past President); and two (2) shall be appointed, one (1) from each of the respective economic development agencies from Calgary and Edmonton. The Nominating Committee may also appoint non-voting representatives from the provincial or federal government, or other organizations as they see fit. The Immediate President is a voting member of the Board. Elections for new board members take place on an annual basis at the Spring AGM. 

All Board members are expected to:

  • Act in the best interests of the organization
  • Be engaged Ambassadors for the organization
  • Guide long-range planning and development
  • Raise money and monitor finances
  • Set policy
  • Recruit and support the CEO
  • Attend board meetings  
  • Adhere to the board code of ethics
  • Declare a conflict of interest if applicable

2020-21 EDA Board of Directors

Mary Lee Prior



Jennifer Fossen

Past President


Trevor Lewington 

Vice President 


Martin Ebel

Secretary Treasurer

Lethbridge County

Patricia Nicol


St. Albert

Eleanor Miclette



Benjamin Young



Shane Olson


Strathcona County

Danielle Carter



Deana Haley



Kent McMullin



Message from Mary Lee Prior, EDA President

Now more than ever our members, sponsors, and partners should be very proud to be associated with Economic Developers Alberta (EDA). The leadership, dedication and ingenuity we have shown with our programming and delivery of services during this time of crisis demonstrates our commitment to providing economic developers and all community leaders with the most current and relevant information to help strengthen communities during this challenging time.

We have proven we are a leading edge organization and the board of directors continues to set ambitious goals for growth and improvement. By equipping economic development professionals with world class networking opportunities, a robust professional development program and valuable information we aim to create thriving communities; a goal that is important now more than ever.

I am very proud to be an EDA member and a I am honoured to lead this valuable team for the 2020/2021 year.

Your Economic Development Network in Alberta


Toll Free Phone: 1.866.671.8182


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software