2018 Awards of Excellence Winners

The individuals who were recognized are:

The President's Award 

Sara Chamberlain 
Airdrie Economic Development    
The Outstanding Young Professional

Jennifer Fossen
Economic Development, Town of Wetaskiwin 
The Economic Developer of the Year 

David Kalinchuk
Economic Development, Rocky View County

The winning communities and organizations and the names of their initatives are: 

Business Retention and Expansion (BRE)

  • Small community/region-  Big Lakes County - Diversification and SME Support Initiatives (Phase I): Sector Profiles & Tours
  • Medium community/region-  Town of Cochrane-Cochrane Dollar Project
  • Large community/region- CAEP - Central Alberta Economic l Partnership-  Regional BRE & Toolkit

Business and Investment Attraction (BIA):

  • Small community/region-  Town of High River- Rooted in People
  • Medium community/region-  Strathcona County- You Can in Strathcona County
  • Large community/region-  Palliser Economic Partnership- Oyen Rail Yard and Logistics Park

Community Economic Development (CED):

  • Small community/region- Town of Drumheller- Druumheller Dinosaur Street Walk Project
  • Medium community/region- Economic Development Lethbridge- Ignite YQL 2017

The Alex Metcalfe Award recognizes the "best of the best" community project in each of the BIA, BRE and CED categories.The Alex Metcalfe Awards went to:

  • Business Retention and Expansion- Town of Cochrane- Cochrane Dollar Project
  • Business and Investment Attraction- Palliser Economic Partnership- Oyen Rail Yard and Logistics Park
  • Community Economic Development-  Town of Drumheller- Drumheller Dinosaur Street Walk Project

Your Economic Development Network in Alberta


Toll Free Phone: 1.866.671.8182


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software